The Year Ahead


Make text smaller Make text larger





Our editors gaze into the future of 2014 and discuss the major issues, for your neighborhood and for the city, in the year ahead. [The De-Manhattanization of Politics](http://nypress.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/de-blasio_opt.jpeg) De Blasio has vowed to turn his attention to the outer boroughs [Up and Away](http://nypress.com/up-and-away/) Urban sprawl goes vertical, sparking new fights over air rights [Rethinking the Schools](http://nypress.com/rethinking-the-schools/) De Blasio's tax hike for pre-Kers is only the beginning [The Less-Than-Superbowl](http://nypress.com/the-less-than-super-bowl/) The host city isn't feeling so grand about the big game in February [Opening Door, and Memories, at the Freedom Tower](http://nypress.com/opening-doors-and-memories-at-the-freedom-tower/) The first major new building at the Trade Center opens early in 2014 [In the Shadow of the Billionaires](http://nypress.com/in-the-shadow-of-the-billionaires) New luxury apartments along Central Park stir old debates [Garbage In, Garbage Out](http://nypress.com/garbage-in-garbage-out/) Tracking the most contentious issue on the East Side (http://nypress.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/HudsonYardsProject_opt.jpeg)[Hudson Rising](http://nypress.com/hudson-rising/) The massive new complex on the West side is coming into view [The Newcomer on the East Side](http://nypress.com/the-newcomer-on-the-east-side) Kallos arrives, with a technology focus [The Next Sandy](http://nypress.com/the-next-sandy/) Planning for the next storm while recovering from the last one [Filling Brewer's Big Shoes](http://nypress.com/filling-brewers-big-shoes/) The new council member on the West side [The Second Avenue Saga](http://nypress.com/the-second-avenue-saga/) The project won't end in 2014, though there will be small victories





Make text smaller Make text larger

Comments



MUST READ NEWS

VIDEOS



Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Neighborhood Newsletters





MOST READ

MOST COMMENTED